#OneBraveNight 2018 | Thank you!

Last month, I decided to participate in my second One Brave Night for Mental Health fundraiser. In my previous blog post, I pledged to raise $500 for the Centre of Addiction and Mental Health Foundation, and thanks to all of you, we were once again able to surpass my fundraising goal.

As many of you are already aware, I have been personally affected by mental illness, and as such, raising awareness about mental health issues is a cause that is near and dear to my heart. Naturally, a campaign like this one, which aims to educate and destigmatize in addition to raising money for research and the expansion of available mental health services, is a campaign in which I am proud to take part.

I am proud to hear mental illness being discussed more openly, and it is my hope that participating in fundraisers like this one will help facilitate these conversations. As I mentioned in my previous post, although mental illness is not as stigmatized as it once was, that stigma still exists and is still highly prevalent in our society to this day. By continuing to have more open and nonjudgmental conversations, we can help break down the stigma and slowly make it easier for those in need of care and support to have access to the necessary resources. With the money raised from this campaign, the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health Foundation is looking to expand these resources. According to their website, in addition to continuing to do research on the most effective ways of achieving recovery, they are also planning to use these funds to open three new youth clinic and to make mental health services more accessible to those who live in more remote areas across Canada.

At the beginning of this post, I mentioned that I wanted to raise $500 for this year’s CAMH One Brave Night fundraiser on April 6, 2018. I am proud to announce that with your help, we managed to raise a total of $600, surpassing my fundraising goal for the second year in a row. According to CAMH, this year’s campaign raised over $700,000, which is I think is amazing, and I am so excited that all this money is going to such an incredible cause.

Thank you once again to everyone who helped out with this year’s campaign. Whether you contributed by donating, sharing this post on social media, or even just reading my blog and listening to what I had to say, I am truly grateful for your support, and I am proud to have been a part of One Brave Night 2018.

On a completely unrelated note, in the spirit of wanting to “do more things”, which was essentially my new year’s resolution, please keep an eye on this blog, as I hope to be posting more content over the next few months. I am going to be publishing posts about my recent trip to Vancouver, book and music recommendations, and my terrifying/exciting plans for the future. So, if you are interested, please feel free to follow this blog, and you will be notified every time I publish a new post.

Thanks again for all your support! 🙂

Leave a comment